A Light-Hearted Twist on First Date Drinks and Conversations — Nicole Sumerlyn’s “Over A Drink”

Donna Block
6 min readFeb 25, 2021

--

Powered by endless energy, a lifelong gift for musical expression, and an unabashed love of performing, Nicole Sumerlyn has been engaging Canadian audiences for ten years with a traditional country sound blended with a rock edge. Originally from Abbotsford, British Columbia, Sumerlyn embraced music and performance very early on.

Choreographing ‘shows’ for your family starting at age four. Which traditional country artists have most influenced your sound?

Yes, I was definitely a theatrical kid who wasn’t afraid of attention, haha.

Patsy Cline was and still is a very influential artist for me. Her vocal style is not just country, but it has notes of jazz and at times, attitude. I find that through years of covering her songs, I often replicate those sounds.

Johnny Cash also has an influence on the kind of artist that I am. He was considered a bit of an outlaw. His music isn’t shy if you will. Johnny Cash was known to be a rebel heart with the upbeat groove. I definitely continue to take note from his music.

Opening for Canadian country star Brett Kissel just 11 years later. Which song of his is your favorite to cover?

Brett has a lot of great songs! One of my favorites would be “I Didn’t Fall In Love With Your Hair.” As someone who has unfortunately been impacted with the horrors of cancer, this song is a beautiful touch on the topic. The writers and team for that whole song did a great job. I love singing songs with meaning, and this is one of them for sure.

How has your artistic upbringing (community theater, fine arts classes, competitive dancing) shaped you as an artist?

There was never a time in my life where I didn’t think I would be in the entertainment business one way or another. From an early age of three, I was put on a stage and felt most comfortable in that environment.

Having my childhood consumed by competitive dance, music lessons, and attending a fine arts school, it was just second nature to me to be performing. With this background, it’s really made me know how to ‘own a stage.’ I had been given the tools to feel confident, and understand elements of how to put on a ‘show’ rather than just stand there and sing.

I think I learned a lot of lessons in my early years about performing that I wouldn’t have learned if I was just starting out as an adult. I believe that because of this background, it just confirms my love for being an entertainer, and showcasing art one way or another. I’ve never wanted to do anything else, and I never will.

How do ‘old school’ songwriters like Gretchen Wilson and Miranda Lambert inspire your own songwriting?

Both Gretchen and Miranda have the similar quality of writing and performing. They both share an important love for the pure classic country sound, but know how to let loose and show the rock side as well.

I deeply take inspiration from both artists. I’ve learned from them that it’s important to keep country music alive by writing truthfully but not being afraid to break the little box that is ‘modern country.’

Artists like the three of us aren’t afraid to get edgy; it shows that female artists don’t need to have a certain delicate image. They are both badass female artists and songwriters who have paved the way for artists who share those attributes.

I will always be inspired by their qualities.

Receiving a grant from FACTOR Canada, which supports the Canadian independent music industry with contributions from Private Radio Broadcasters and the Department of Canadian Heritage. How has the grant allowed you to share your music with fans?

FACTOR is my holy grail at this point. I’m very thankful for their support. Without the contribution, it can be difficult to share music on a professional scale.

I’m not going to lie, being an artist, especially during a pandemic, isn’t exactly the most financially gratifying thing. This grant has allowed me to build a team to release my single “Over A Drink” as well as film a music video in support of the song.

I want nothing more than to share my music to anyone who will listen. So I’m very happy to have the opportunity to do so, thanks to FACTOR.

The new single, “Over A Drink” (co-written with Jimmy Thow), explores the importance of confidence, chemistry, and purpose on a first date. Was the songwriting based on a personal experience?

Absolutely. Writing from experience, whether it was my personal story or someone I know, is important to me. Staying authentic to my music is a main component of the kind of artist that I am.

I hate dating. It’s exhausting. I find it awkward and it often feels like an interview.

“Over A Drink” came to life as I walked into the writing room with Jimmy on one of my Nashville trips in 2019. At the time, I had just started to see this guy who was just not that exciting. Being very open about my life, I started ranting about him before our write. Jimmy was listening but immediately perked up as I said something about being ‘over a drink.’ And in good songwriting fashion, the single was born within an hour and a half.

What was the best advice producer Taylor Allum shared with you as he worked on the track?

“Over A Drink” is my first song that I’ve released since I was sixteen. I’ve spent a lot of time building myself since then. As a result, I felt a great amount of pressure to perfect everything. I think the biggest thing he would remind me of is “if you put in zero, you get zero back.” He needed to remind me that if we just let the song sit and not release it because of my fears that it would keep me from moving forward in a beneficial way.

When it came to recording vocals, he really got me to dig deep and create a very gritty sound. It ended up being exactly what we were going for, so it worked out the way it needed to!

Sharing weird dating stories on your Instagram ‘Over A Drink — Mixology Series.’ What’s your favorite drink to make?

Yes! It’s a really fun series, and there’s more to come. I am a whiskey lover, so one of my go-to’s is bourbon sour. It does take a long time to shake it properly so it gets nice and frothy, however it’s a fantastic bitter-sweet cocktail that I’m never not in the mood for.

‘Over A Drink’ — Mixology Series Instagram Link

Instagram

Facebook

Twitter

YouTube

TikTok

Spotify

SoundCloud

--

--