Jaimey Hamilton’s “Stompin’ Ground” — “Not a single worry in the world, I got what I need, you and a couple of six strings”

Donna Block

--

Vancouver Island born. First guitar at age seven and took lessons for a few years, but then realized you could fine tune your skills using online resources like YouTube. Enjoy playing popular classic tunes, such as “You’re Gonna Make Me Lonesome When You Go” by Bob Dylan. How were you able to find lessons online? Which YouTubers would you recommend for others wanting to learn to play?

I was able to refer to YouTube for many songs I wanted to learn.

Marty Music is a great instructor for beginners and I often watched his lessons!

Three-time cancer survivor, finally enduring a bone marrow transplant at the age of 12. Immersing yourself in making music, “It was the one thing that was always there for me and kept me inspired.”

Children’s Wish BC granted you the opportunity to record “Survive” with Juno Award-winning producer Adam Alexander in 2017. The song documents your personal battle and offers hope and strength to those who have faced cancer and childhood trauma. What songs did you listen to during your treatments?

As a young aspiring artist, I listened to Taylor Swift, Carrie Underwood, Miley Cyrus, and The Chicks to name a few.

I always loved “The Climb” by Miley Cyrus because it is such a triumphant song that is so inspiring.

“Mean” by Taylor Swift was the first song I performed live and I chose it because ‘cancer is mean.’ This was how I introduced it when I first sang it.

At the age of nine, began writing songs. Influenced by artists like Swift, Hailey Whitters, Miranda Lambert and Carly Pearce. “I’m in my element when I’m surrounded by my family and friends that I love. Country music brings me a similar feeling.” How have these artists helped shape the musician you are today?

What these artists have in common is their songwriting skills. Each of these artists aren’t afraid to be vulnerable in their songs and I’ve always appreciated that. I want listeners to feel the same when they listen to my music. I want to be as honest as I can and write about things that will inspire the listener and make them think, “Wow, she perfectly said what I’ve been feeling.”

“Save a Barstool for Me,” “… a very personal song I wrote with my friends Rich [Cloke] and Josh [David], about the passing of my grandpa. It was written straight from the heart as it depicts my grandpa’s character and his legacy. With its uplifting melody and lyrics, I hope this song resonates with others and shines on those who may be grieving.” What have fans shared on how this song has helped them through difficult times?

I’ve had a couple friends and fans come up to me saying that they recently lost their grandpas around the time I released this song, and it was an uplifting view on losing someone for them.

Earned a diploma from the Conservatory of Music. How did the courses help you grow as an artist?

This course definitely pushed me out of my comfort zone. I had little to no expertise in music theory so this opened up a whole new world for me. I also got to collaborate with my peers which was something I didn’t do before. I never reached out much to fellow artists until I was in my program and I had small and large ensembles and even a band outside of the program with my peers.

Performed in your first Nashville songwriter circle at the 2023 Nash Bash Collective, a community of driven musicians who ‘go big or go home.’ Best advice another artist shared at the event?

The best advice someone said at the Nash Bash Collective was to “continue being yourself.” It’s so easy to fall into the trap of being what you think others want you to be. However, if you stay authentic and true to yourself then you will attract those that believe in you.

“Stompin’ Ground,” co-written with Scotty Hills in 2017 and recorded at Barnhouse Sound two years ago. “Through the years at my family’s lake cabin in the summer, my happy place has always been on my dock with a drink in my hand and country music playing through the speakers. For “Stompin’ Ground,” I tied those memories together with my unapologetic love for country music into a song that conveys nostalgia and fits right in as a summertime country playlist staple.” Favorite lyric and why?

“Not a single worry in the world, I got what I need, you and a couple of six strings”

I love this line of the song because up in my happy place, I have no worries in the world. As long as I have good company, some drinks, and good music, then I am happy.

“For those who may not know, pre-saving really helps smaller artists like myself create a buzz and exposure around their release before it is even out. It builds a demand and gives artists the chance to potentially reach a wider audience.” How else can fans help support an artist’s new releases?

Sharing and listening is the easiest way to support any artist’s new release. Building up the artist’s streams helps to continue that demand and sharing the song to your story and/or post is basically free advertising for the artist. Doing so puts the single in front of a new audience and potential new fans.

Created the music video with Sean Lyons Video. Seeing your lyrics come to life at your happy place — which songs would make your summer playlist?

I definitely have a number on my summer playlist but these would be the top:

“Springsteen” by Eric Church

“Tequila Does-Remix” Miranda Lambert

“Everything She Ain’t” Hailey Whitters

“Sweet Home Alabama” Lynyrd Skynyrd

Sunfest Country Music Festival, performing on the Lake Night Stage and on the Flats Stage as part of a BC Country Music Association’s Songwriters Round. Supporting local artists. Will you be playing new music at these shows?

Absolutely! I am excited to show the performance side of my artistry on Saturday night and then my songwriting skills on Sunday. I have new songs I will be playing for both sets.

Instagram
Facebook
TikTok
Twitter

--

--