Matt Morson’s Latest, “True Country”

Donna Block
5 min readJun 3, 2022

--

Born and raised in a small town in rural Ontario, Matt Morson used his passion and desire for music and songwriting as a way to express himself.

You shared that the first song you mastered on the guitar was Led Zeppelin’s 1969 classic “Communication Breakdown” at age 11. Your music incorporates the influences of southern rock, country, and blues. What songs did your family listen to as you grew up in Nobleton, Ontario?

Well, a lot of classic rock to be honest. I love all of it. The heavy, the soft, all of it. If I had to pick a few aside from Zeppelin I’d say Bachman-Turner Overdrive (BTO), Black Sabbath, Cream, The Rolling Stones, and Genesis. We also listened to a lot of classic country, like Merle Haggard, George Jones and I have to mention Vince Gill. I swear Gill would be on every Saturday as it was one of the few CDs we had!

2021. “Tailgate Patio,” a summer anthem, and “Take a Chance,” a song of hope. Which artists have most influenced your songwriting?

That’s an almost impossible question to answer as there are so many.

Unlike my childhood, I now listen to a lot more music and a lot more subgenres. If I had to pick three I would say:

Gordon Lightfoot, as he has a way of storytelling that only he could do. It made me realize that it’s best not to mimic others but to find your own methods.

Iron Maiden. That one is the pure trueness that Iron Maiden embodies. They are them and nothing else and have never tried or cared to be anything but that. Also being interested in literature and history since childhood, Iron Maiden fills that niche.

Last, I would say Sturgill Simpson. He is honest. People don’t always like the truth but it is what it is. I mean it sounds cliche but I really do think about those things as I write. Helps me stay focused, I guess.

“I wanted to write something that walks the line between being a fun summer smash and an unapologetic in-your-face country tune.” How does your new single, “True Country,” sonically capture your own country way of life?

It’s me! Growing up, and honestly for most of my adult life, I fought to keep my head above water. We worked like dogs all day to barely make enough to get by. Often making just enough to keep going the next day. We didn’t drive in only pickups. We drove whatever we could afford and get running. We lived our life but never complained. We almost liked the underdog life. Shined in it. “True Country” is my message about that. We are all equal and all have potential, but our roots are all different.

Who We Are, a series of music showcases around Ontario, to support your latest release.

Music from the Vineyard Country Festival at Terra Estate Winery, featuring Andrew Hyatt, Madeline Merlo and more, on July 23rd. You worked as a production and general event logistics assistant at music festivals as a young adult. What resources are available for new artists looking to gain experience in these important roles?

Millions! You just need to do some research. I poked around as a young man and was fortunate enough to be part of some large festivals. If any artists are interested, I would definitely recommend it. It allows you to see the industry from many different angles and gain many perspectives. We are often told this industry is a business. In fact, it’s many different businesses. The more you learn about each type involved, the better equipped you will be to navigate this crazy industry. If an artist or anyone is serious, I would say start out any way you can. Even volunteer. The more you prove yourself to be a valuable asset the more responsibility you will have and the more experience you will gain.

“The woods have been where I need to be as of late.” You wrote “Tailgate Patio” sitting on a hill on a break from turkey hunting. Where are your favorite places to go for meat hunting?

First of all, I love this question. All I do is meat hunt. I was raised with the mentality that if you are going to hunt an animal, then you are going to consume it. It’s a primal respect I have for the land and all in it. My favorite place is my hometown. I have the privilege of being able to hunt near my home, five minutes away to be exact. I hunt geese and ducks during the early fall. Then around mid-October I start my bow hunt for deer. That lasts right up until the end of December. Spring is for the turkeys. Funny enough when I wrote “Tailgate Patio,” I was not at my usual spot but up north on a hunting trip with my family. I do try to stay local but it’s hard to say no to a hunting trip that you don’t need to spend a dime on!

Honestly — thank you, truly loved these questions!

Facebook
Instagram
YouTube
Spotify

--

--