Medium Video Premiere: A Neon Cinderella — Dani Taylor’s “Midnight Cowgirl”

Donna Block
5 min readApr 23, 2021

--

Photo Credit: Alex Berger

Nashville based Dani Taylor is known for her sweet, soaring vocals and sassy lyrics. Inspired by the more challenging moments in life, from bad experiences to breakups, the singer/songwriter finds that making music helps her turn those negatives into positives.

Her sound is a blend of upbeat, catchy melodies supported by playful stylistic elements like banjo, guitar and mandolin. The Arizona native released her debut single, “Girl Most Likely,” last summer.

“I wasn’t raised on country music-country chose me.” After working with a vocal coach, you covered Patsy Cline songs. How did her songs, along with other country artists, influence your decision to pursue a career in country music?

Patsy influenced me because her songs and singing style really spoke to my soul. From the time I first heard her voice and her songs, I knew country was the route I wanted to choose musically.

Ramsey’s Ramco Records released music by local singer Waylon Jennings, who fronted the house band at a club called JD’s, in 1962. What local venues would you take visitors to in the Phoenix area?

There are very few music venues in Arizona, especially country music venues, which is one of the reasons why I moved to Nashville. There is a big pool party Vegas music themed club scene in Arizona (Maya Day + Night Club), but that’s about it aside from University of Phoenix Stadium for tours that come through.

“Country music is an outlet that I never knew I needed until I discovered it. It allows me to truly tell my stories, my life, my feelings and opinions in an effortless yet poetic way. I love that I can be honest and open yet my words can have double meanings at the same time in country. There is always a story to tell and I love telling stories.” Kacey Musgraves’ songwriting honesty has had an influence on your own writing. Which topics have you not written about, but hope to soon?

I haven’t written much about negative or sad emotions. I might touch on them but I don’t have many songs lamenting on breakups. I do have some ideas on that subject matter for future songs.

You shared you’d love to collaborate (co-write or duet) in the future with Kane Brown. What is your favorite song of his to cover and why?

I love his song “Heaven.” It would be the perfect song for a duet and I’d sure love to be the one to perform it with him.

Moving to Nashville in 2018 to releasing your debut single, “Girl Most Likely,” last August. The song’s music video premiered on CMT. Your next release, “Man of Few Words,” has been described as a ‘starry eyed country love song.’ How did you choose these songs as your introduction to country music fans?

“Girl Most Likely” is who I am at my core and it was my introduction/taste of who I am as a person. “Man of Few Words” is my outlier song, but I knew it had a universal theme that many could relate to, which is why I decided to release it.

You were a featured artist on the Grand Ole Opry’s radio station WSM last fall. When the Opry’s stage was built in 1974, a perfect six-foot circle of wood from the Ryman Auditorium’s stage was inserted, to honor the “Mother Church of Country Music.” Which essential albums would you recommend to a new fan that best honor the genre?

Any album by Dolly Parton or Patsy Cline.

“Table For One Drinking For Two” was written after breaking up with a guy who made you not want to date again. The song, whose signature drinks could be an order of a margarita on the rocks and a shot of tequila blanco, is an ode to independence and ranked in the Top 60 on Billboard’s Indicator Chart. How has songwriting helped you spread positivity and a healthier outlook on life and the future?

Writing songs like “Table For One Drinking For Two,” which is about having a positive mindset and being okay with being on your own, help me to spread positivity by keeping the tone of my songs optimistic.

Your recently released self-titled EP (“Kiss Me If You Can,” “Midnight Cowgirl,” “You Can Thank Me Later”) was produced by Grammy-nominee Brad Hill and Dave Thomson. The three tracks were co-written with Sherrie Austin and Will Rambeaux. “The inspiration for this EP was the closing of my first chapter here in Nashville. I have learned so much having been here for three years. I’ve learned a lot about myself as well. This EP was a part of the recording project with the first three singles I released. It showcased everything I have learned and gone through when I first came here, and it hints at where my journey is going next.” How do these songs hint at where you see your journey headed?

They show the closing of my first chapter here in Nashville. Now I am going to take some time to figure out who I am and what stories I want to tell and who exactly my audience is.

The “Midnight Cowgirl” lyrics paint a strong visual of a woman, a ‘neon Cinderella,’ who desires love but holds back. Did you and co-writer Rambeaux envision the song’s video when you wrote the lyrics?

“Midnight Cowgirl” is about someone who loves the wrong (toxic) people and realizes until she can love herself she cannot give love to others in a healthy way. I envisioned someone being in an emotionally abusive relationship and realizing that they need to find love for themself before they can be happy. It’s about a girl who gets treated negatively by partners and she allows this because she doesn’t know any better and she’s stuck in a negative lonely cycle of giving everything she has for nothing in return. “Pull back on the reins” is the idea of stopping that cycle of pursuing toxic relationships and finally finding love for oneself and the strength to leave the people that can’t give love back.

Any plans for a songwriters’ retreat in Florida to work on new music?

No plans made just yet, but you never know what will unfold in 2021!

Instagram

Twitter

Facebook

YouTube

Apple

Spotify

--

--